Posts Tagged ‘breaks’

DJ Ides – Vitamin (B)reaks Supplement Vol. 2

Sunday, October 25th, 2009

This mix is old (2007) but (imho) pretty good. This was actually done in an attempt to somewhat re-create a mix that I did while living in Manhattan as a supplement to a house mix I was distributing at the time. I was never completely satisfied with the original Vitamin (B)reaks Supplement (volume 1), yet friends were constantly hounding me to send them another copy of it. My answer? This mix… a deeper, darker and BETTER breaks mix, incorporating many of the same tracks as featured on the original but mixed with more technical precision.

ThisĀ  mix was done in Jersey City, NJ on two Tech 1200 turntablesĀ  and my Rane TTM-54i mixer, a few weeks before I moved to Eastern Europe. The mix is, as always, 100% live.

This mix hits deeper, harder, darker and faster than a pit viper striking a native on the ankle with a deadly blow. It starts with funky house and electroclash, but rapidly diverges into mind-bending myelin-destructive breakbeats. The continuous overlay between Transformer Man’s “Giant” and the incredibly ethereal “Inka,” by Beatman and Ludmilla is one of the best mixes I have ever recorded, almost, yet not quite, eclipsed by the transition between ASAP (Andy Page) “Firebird” and the dope-beyond-belief Scrambler production “Free,” coming out of Australia and also featured on the extremely awesome Phil K “Balance 004” compilation.

Enjoy it and, whatever you do, DON’T TURN OUT THE LIGHTS!!!



1) U&K – “Ignite” [Cuba Recordings]
2) Minoru – “Take It To The Fire” [Mad Skippers]
3) The Breakfastaz – “Mass Distraction (feat. Shahla)” [Cyberfunk Records]
4) Paradox 3000 – “Sound Of The Underground” [Punk Funk Records]
5) Care In The Community – “Thirteen Flip” [Mob Records]
6) Care In The Community vs. Databass – “New World Enemy Flip” [Freakaboom]
7) Care In The Community vs. Databass – “Gradient” [Freakaboom]
8a) Transformer Man – “Giant” [777 Records]
8b) Beatman & Ludmilla – “Inka” [Vinyl Addiction Breaks]
9) GT – “Lovesong (This Is Not A…) (Dark Alley’s Heavy Mental Breaks Mix)” [White]
10) ASAP – “Firebird” [Fire]
11) Scrambler – “Free” [EQ]
12) Phil K & Habersham – “Cloudbrake” [Audiotherapy]
13) 16 Bit Lolitas – “Non Verbal Language” [Hope]
14) Hybrid – “Burnin” [Distinct’ive Breaks]

DJ Ides – In Da House

Sunday, October 25th, 2009

Another house mix I did last year. This one starts off more in the tech house direction, with deep rolling beats, and bleepy sounds. After blast off, the mix meanders through a bit of deep house and takes a dip in a pool of Latin flavor with DJ Sneak’s “Did It At The Disco.” Next, it’s back to tech house with an excellent track by Julien Chaptal (bought direct in Amsterdam) and into the progressive-tinged sounds of Quivver and Eva B, leading into the massive breakdown of Eric Prydz’ remix of Paolo Mojo’s “1983.” From here, the mix extends into filthy, chaotic electro and breaks with DJ Mujava’s “Township Funk” (direct from the townships of Pretoria, South Africa) and Andy Page’s wicked “Oblivia Newton Bomb”. The finale comes in the form of the absolutely scorching Alavi remix of Benajmin Theves “Texas”, and a bangin “End Hit” courtesy of Shadow Dance!

I was glad to be able to throw a South African track into this mix, as I was living in Cape Town, South Africa just before I put this together. Many of these records were actually bought in Amsterdam record stores on my way back to Europe from South Africa.

This mix was done live, entirely on vinyl, 2 Tech 1200s and a mixer!



1) Julien Chaptal – “Cocotte Minute (Featuring Carlos “Screaming” Valdes)” [Remote Area 2008]
2) Lauhaus – “Casamance” [AreaRemote 2008]
3) Norm Talley and Doc Link – “Sexy” [Third Ear Recordings 2008]
4) DJ Sneak – “Did It At The Disco” [Guesthouse Music 2008]
5) Julien Chaptal – “Luther’s Finest” [Remote Area 2008]
6) Quivver – “Surin” [BozBoz 2008]
7) Eva Be featuring Pegah Ferydoni – “She Walks Alone (Marcus Worgull Remix)” [Sonar Kollektiv 2008]
8) Paolo Mojo – “1983 (Eric Prydz Remix)” [Pryda Friends 2006]
9) DJ Mujava – “Township Funk” [White Label 2008]
10) Andy Page & Babs – “Oblivia Newton Bomb” [Thunk 2002]
11) Benjamin Theves – “Texas (Patrick Alavi Remix)” – [Roxour 2005]
12) Shadow Dance – “End Hit” [BoysNoize Records 2007]