Posts Tagged ‘funky house’

DJ Ides – Funkdafied LIVE

Sunday, October 25th, 2009

This mix is straight up house… funky, bouncing and delicious! It starts off on a melancholy vibe, sounding like a rainy day, transgresses to breaks with a deep, brooding, and massive track by Fretwell, and then heads straight into a disco inferno, as Dealer’s Choice “Bomb(s) This Place”!  The mix gets funkier and funkier as the minutes tick onwards, taking you through dark alleys and hidden warehouses in Chicago with a selection of vinyls from Strictly Rhythm and Jackin Tracks, and into the deep house summertime disco insanity of Raul Rincon. Just when you feel the mix can’t possibly get any funkier, “Feel” by the Funk Masters is dropped, sending all listener’s to Disco Heaven! A classic, “Get Dynamite,” from Italy circa 1991 closes out the mix with a bang and Rasmus Farber’s “Where We Belong” eases the mix to a closing that is as chill as ice, yet as warm as the sweetest dreams.

As always, this mix was done completely live on two turntables and two CDJs! Lemme know what you think!!! Can it possibly get any funkier?



1) Third Floor Tiger – “Sub Rosa” [Urbantorque]
2) Hypnos – “Red Light” [Urbantorque]
3) Fretwell – “Dreams Attack” [Electrofly]
4) Dealer’s Choice – “Bomb This Place” [Urbantorque]
5) DJ Mujava – “Township Funk (Crazy P Remix)” [Hed Kandi]
6) Random Soul – “Prime For The Airwaves (Da Sunlounge Remix)” [Onethirty Recordings]
7) Eddie Leader – “Try To Remember” [Jackin Tracks]
8) Osunlade – “Momma’s Groove (Jimpster’s Hip Replacement Mix)” [Strictly Rhythm]
9) White Collar Criminals – “Wanting You (Frequent Fliers Remix)” [Jackin Tracks]
10) The Ian Carey Project – “Get Shaky (Funkability Remix)” [Gfab]
11) Coburn – “We Interrupt This Program (Raul Rincon Remix)” [Swings Records]
12) Brad Holland – “Crazy (Raul Rincon Remix)” [Gfab]
13) Funk Masters – “Feel” [White Label]
14) Freemasons Feat. Hazel Fernandes – “If (Freemasons 2009 Re-Rub)” [Legato]
15) Band In A Box – “Get Dynamite (Club Version)” [No Name Records]
16) Rasmus Farber – “Where We Belong (Original Mix)” [Farplane]

Summer 2009 Mix

Sunday, October 25th, 2009

Here is a summer mix that I did a few months ago. The mix was done 100% live on two Technics 1200 turntables, 2 Pioneer CDJ-1000s, and a Pioneer DJM-800 mixer.

This mix is far more commercially oriented than anything I would usually do, but I think it fits a summery vibe quite well…. especially as I type this in the cold and dark beginnings of the Lithuanian winter!



1) Q-Force – “Polyphonic (Original Vintage Mix)” [Add2Basket Records]
2) Noir – “My MTV (Raul Rincon Remix)” [Housesession Records]
3) Memo Solinas – “Just As Long As We’re Together (Samuele Sartini Sunny Mix)” [Glitter]
4) Simon-F – “Sunset Blvd. (Beach Party Mix)” [Link Records]
5) Big WOrld – “Powder” [Lemans Recordings]
6) Jerry Ropero & Denis The Menace – “Coracao” [Feel The Rhythm]
7) Veerus & Maxie Devine – “Fujiko (D.O.N.S. Remix)” [Nero Recordings]
8) Michael Simon & Jerry Ropero – “Ocean Drums (Mischa Daniels Higher Mode Remix)” [Nero Recordings]
9) Cevin Fisher Feat. Loleatta Holloway – “You Got Me Burning Up! (Prok & Fitch Remix)” [Strictly Rhythm]
10) Jonathon Ulysses – “Time (Peter Brown Remix)” [Big In Ibiza]
11) Coburn – “We Interrupt This Program (Jean Claude Ades Remix)” [Swings Records]
12) Julian The Angel – “Sweet Child Of Mine 2009” [Soleado Recordings]
13) The Attic – “Flash In The Night (Albin Meyers Remix)” [Jola Records]
14) Miles Dyson – “Outro” [Plasmapool]
15) Definite Grooves – “We Know Now” [Definite Groove Records]

Enjoy!!! I will add an FLAC download link if requested!